Okay, I'm no expert but I am a researcher by training and I've been trying to educate myself on the AS research and just wanted to jump in about MTX having no role in the tx of AS since I've seen this elsewhere.

In their 2015 paper ( American College of Rheumatology ) they say "In adults with active AS despite treatment with NSAIDs, we conditionally recommend against treatment with SAARDs..." and then they cite the lack of evidence for its effectiveness (i.e., we don't have enough good research to say that it works) but also the lack of quality research (i.e., we don't have enough good research to assess whether it works).

On the AS fact page on their website ( Spondyloarthritis - American College of Rheumatology ), they say "For patients who do not respond to the above lines of treatment, disease modifying antirheumatic drugs (commonly called DMARDs) such as sulfasalazine (Azulfidine) might be effective."

There are two relatively recent Cochrane reviews on AS and MTX (Methotrexate for ankylosing spondylitis. ) and SSZ ( Sulfasalazine for ankylosing spondylitis. ). Regarding MTX they say, "There is not enough evidence to support any benefit of MTX in the treatment of AS. High-quality RCTs of larger sample sizes are needed to clarify the effect(s) of MTX on AS." For SSZ, their conclusion is more equivocal but similar, "There is not enough evidence to support any benefit of sulfasalazine... in the treatment of AS. Further studies, with larger sample sizes, longer duration, and using validated outcome measures are needed to verify the uncertainty of sulfasalazine in AS."

I'm not disagreeing with the earlier comment but I just had to point out that there's a big difference btwn "there's good evidence to show it does not work," and "there's no good evidence to show if it does or does not work."