Spondyloarthritis / Spondylitis Forums - Spondylitis Association of America
Spondylitis Association of America Home Page Learn About Spondyloarthritis / Ankylosing Spondylitis About Us - Our Work More Ways To Connect With Others / Support Groups And More Become a Member of SAA We Are A Nonprofit - Donate Today Shop for Products
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#278143 - 06/08/17 08:41 PM Re: Hello, everyone. New here. [Re: Lewis23]
ahulett Offline
Registered Visitor

Loc: Washington
Hello David,

Glad it worked smile And I can understand how it can be scary to post details like this. Good news is folks here are very welcoming and friendly.

I'm not a doctor, but I'd say, without rehashing your post, you're on the right track with making an appointment with a rheumatologist. I'd personally recommend a few different things you can do between now and then.

First, start keeping a log/journal of your symptoms. At a minimum, write down where you feel the pain, what type of pain it is (sharp, burning, constant, comes and goes...), and the intensity. For this last one, I've found the Mankowski chart helpful, and you can read about it here: http://forums.spondylitis.org/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=254152

How you keep the log is up to you. Some folks use written logs. I use an app for iOS called My Pain Diary. At the end of the day, what's important is you can take paper copies to your rheumatologist so you can review together, and they can either keep a copy or scan them into your file. Over time, your notes can help show if medications and such are helping, or if you need to try other approaches.