K
kjb Offline OP
Registered Visitor
kjb  Offline OP
Registered Visitor
K
NY, USA
Hello All,

I have a few things that I would like some opinions on, or at least vent a little about an appointment that really bothered me. I am pretty new to my AS diagnosis so the first thing I would like some advice on is Muscle spasms. I have suffered for years from Muscle spasms, I take Flexarol and have for years. However, they are getting much worse as far as pain, persistence and now are wide spread. Could the muscle spasms be from the AS? Do any of you suffer from them? My rib cage has been hurting the past few weeks and I have some muscle spasms in that area, wonder if the pain is from them or if the AS could be active there and causing the spasms.

On another note. I went to have an ultra sound of my shoulders and my hands. The appointment was about 3 hours long, as you might imagine painful, as I had to hold my arms in weird positions for a long time to get the shoulder views. Anyway, at the end the tech went and got the radiologist. Who came in and said to me, "So you think you have AS, that is incredible since its a mans disease"!!! I was dumbfounded!!!!! She then proceeded to look at my right shoulder and asked if I was in pain right then, I said "I am always in pain" She then said this isn't real, shes fine. Then looked at my left shoulder and said you have some calcium build up, the Dr. will tell you get a cortisone shot. As far as your hands you have inflammation and walked out.