Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
starting Enbrel this week, now have MRSA...
#140322 04/18/09 08:28 PM
L
Registered Visitor
OP Offline
Registered Visitor
L
I'm supposed to get my first shipment of Enbrel on Friday (6 days from now.) Today I had to go have an abcess drained, and as I was afraid of, the doctor thinks it is probably MRSA. We won't know until probably Tuesday but since I'm a nurse in a hospital where MRSA is very prevalent, it's very likely. I'm starting 10 days of antibiotics. I know that all the literature says not to take Enbrel with an active infection and will be calling my rheumy as soon as the culture is back, but what is everybody else's experiences with how long you have to wait before starting Enbrel after an infection? I just want to get started!

Re: starting Enbrel this week, now have MRSA...
lanabanana #140355 04/19/09 11:31 AM
G
Registered Visitor
Registered Visitor
G
Just wanted to bump up your posts. I feel it is a very important one! I hope someone can give you an answer.

georgie72493 #140441 04/20/09 02:19 PM
L
Registered Visitor
OP Offline
Registered Visitor
L
thanks georgie. nobody has experiences with infections and starting Enbrel?

lanabanana #140455 04/20/09 05:16 PM
J
Registered Visitor
Registered Visitor
J
Lana, I'm sorry about your infection. I don't know about Enbrel but you're a healthcare professional so listen to your gut. If all the lit says to avoid it, and your doc concurs, please take that advice to heart. MRSA is tough enough to kick without disabling your immune system further - although I understand your frustration and eagerness!

Jen, 42, happy partner of James and Moma to Evan, 14, & Lucy, 12.5 (Crohn's dx @ age 3; on Remicade since April 2010.) I take piroxicam, Flexeril, & Nucynta ER nightly. 3 anti-TNFs didn't pan out for me.

"Science is the father of knowledge, but opinion breeds ignorance." -- Hippocrates
JenInCincy #140461 04/20/09 05:50 PM
G
Registered Visitor
Registered Visitor