Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Me Again..Vitamin D Deficent Am I alone?
#143379 05/22/09 12:19 AM
K
KellyChristal
Unregistered
KellyChristal
Unregistered
K
Yep, got another call today from my new (AND WONDERFUL) PCP. I am officially vitamin D deficient. Is this common in AS. I am once again looking for your vast knowledge, since this is my first time dealing with this. What is the treatment? I have whole milk in my cereal every morning...eat cheese every day...I don't get it.

Re: Me Again..Vitamin D Deficent Am I alone?
#143384 05/22/09 12:47 AM
W
Registered Visitor
Registered Visitor
W
not sure if any link to AS, but definitely a problem in places with not so much sun, it is a problem in Tasmania and Melbourne (Australia) e.g. see:
http://www.disability.vic.gov.au/dsonline/dsarticles.nsf/pages/Vitamin_D?opendocument

I think you will find a link between Vot D deficiency and MS if you do a search

winelover #143386 05/22/09 12:53 AM
K
KellyChristal
Unregistered
KellyChristal
Unregistered
K
winelover....how sad is this...I live in Texas....full sun every day. In my defense we have had a rainy/cloudy streak lately, but my doctors are thinking I am not digesting my food properly and therefore not absorbing the nutrients properly. The MS thing scares me, I just had an MRI to rule it out. The MRI came out Neg, I hope that the MRI is an absolute when it comes to ruling out MS.

#143387 05/22/09 12:59 AM
R
Registered Visitor
Registered Visitor
R
Kelly
There must have been a reason to suspect vitamin D deficiency to have order the test in the first place I think. I was found to be vitamin D deficient too. I have been taking supplements on and off for years, so was surprised.
Do you have intestinal problems? If so it could be a malabsorption issue, as with the B12. My deficiency in both D and B12 I put down to my gut issues.

Rach

"Knowledge is power" - Francis Bacon
"Try all things, and hold on to that which is good" - Thomas Jefferson