need help in regards to waiver information
#159945 10/23/09 11:11 PM
S
saintr1 Offline OP
Registered Visitor
OP Offline
Registered Visitor
S
I am a 23 year man whos main objective in my life has to enter the Navy BUD/s program. I was diagnosed with AS when I was 18 after an inflamation of my large toe was noticed. After taking meds the swelling went down and has stayed so since and my doctor told me it looked like my remission would very well be indefinite. I have never felt any pain from it, I was a cadet at The Citadel from 2005 to may 2009 and I never felt any sort of pain from the AS. I have had a highly intense workout regimen for the past few years consisting of 40 miles of running per week, an hour plus of weight lifting everyday and swimming 3 times a week, none of this ever produced any sort of inflamation or pain in my body. When i graduated I had one of the highest pt scores in the corps of cadets, a 390 on the Army scale. As you can see my AS in no way has put me at a disadvantage physically, but I am worried that the Navy wont see it that way and dq me regardless. I am very concerned about this, if I was told I couldn't be a SEAL it would absolutely devastate me. Please help if you have information you can pass on to me.

Thank you,

Ted

Re: need help in regards to waiver information
saintr1 #159963 10/24/09 02:21 AM
T
Registered Visitor
Registered Visitor
T
I'm wondering if you had a 'mis-diagnosis' at age 18....

~ Trudi
35 yo mum to 5 kids!
dx with 'probable AS' in the middle of 1995 in the Navy. positive inflammatory spondyloarthritis dx by the end of that year. no meds really work yet. am trying sulfasalazine plus a lot of alternative therapies.
www.madebytrudi.blogspot.com
TrudiD #159966 10/24/09 03:28 AM
S
saintr1 Offline OP
Registered Visitor
OP Offline
Registered Visitor
S