New to message boards
#171081 04/07/10 12:28 PM
G
Registered Visitor
OP Offline
Registered Visitor
G
Hi to all
I am kinda new to this posting thing but since I was diagnosed with A/S I have been a fan of this site. I have used the words of encouragment to help me through my feelings about my diagnosis. I have been a Detention Deputy for 18 years. Several years back I started suffering with severe neck and back pain and medical testing revealed no answers. I worked light duty for some time and even though my symptoms remained I forced the issue with my Doctor and returned to normal duty. I felt weak for not being there when my fellow officers gave the call for assistance. About a year ago I began getting more severe sympoms and started missing a lot of work. My Dr. Reffered me to a Rhumy and after blood work and other testing and x rays I was diagnosed with A/S. Pride and love for the job has made it hard for me to give in but I find that I cannot even be productive behind a desk and worry that I may not be able to defend myself let alone a fallen officer though I would try to the end. My agency has been supportive but I feel that is drawing to an end. I am not certain that they can just fire me or if that might be in my best intrest. I hate losing my career like this but feel that disability may be best since the pain is so rough to work through. I have the support of my rhumy and pain management but I just feel like nothing is helping me get back to work. Thanks for your time and any advice. I currently take Remicade, oxycodone, morphine and ambian for those long sleepless nights. I just want to have some kind of life with pain not being the deciding factor of what kind of man I am. Thank god I have a supportive family or I don't know what I would do.
Chuck

Re: New to message boards
Guitarman #171083 04/07/10 01:24 PM
R
Registered Visitor
Registered Visitor
R
Hi Chuck, and welcome.
Hey, nice to know we have a fan!