Print Thread
Spondylitis with other Back Issues #283171 06/01/19 02:46 AM
B
BigDaddio Offline OP
Registered Visitor
OP Offline
Registered Visitor
B
I know there are many on the forum that have other issues affecting their backs, along with their AS or related condition. Myself I have some nerves being compressed due to a damaged disc as well as bone spurs (osteoarthritis) which brings the lovely sciatica into the picture as well. The thing I wonder, though, is where does Spondylitis end and the other stuff begin? I ask because I'm new to the spondy family and am trying to keep a better track of my pain so I can more effectively communicate to my doc, but I'm kind of struggling at times to really differentiate the two. I don't want to mistakenly mislead my rheumy, lol.

For those with multiple spine issues, how can you tell which is causing pain or problems in any particular moment? Does spondylitis hurt for any of you at differing times of the day? Is it only really bad in the morning/middle of the night when not flaring? How similar or different do they feel for you? I realize every case can be unique, but figured I'd ask you nice folks anyway. :-)

Re: Spondylitis with other Back Issues [Re: BigDaddio] #283176 06/01/19 10:15 PM
theyoungestmuse Offline
Registered Visitor
Registered Visitor
I have often pondered this. I have a rupture at L4 -L5 that presses on the thecal sac. I also have sacralization of L5. It is sometimes called Bertolotti syndrome. It is the congenital fusion of L5 vertebrae transverse process on to the sacrum itself. Everything I have read says it is congenital and not related to AS. And that it is the reason why the L4 ruptured because my spine does not flex correctly there. But I withhold judgement because I have not heard of newborns being x-rayed for it nor have I heard about the incidence of HLAB27 in people with this "deformity".