Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
A Question For Those With Previous Shoulder Problems #46751 08/24/06 01:54 PM
J
jennyintexas Offline OP
Registered Visitor
OP Offline
Registered Visitor
J
For the last month my shoulder has been hurting more and more. Yesterday the pain got so bad, at times, I was unable to lift my arm more than a few inches. It is most painful where the head of the humerus meets my clavicle and shoulder blade. Right in the joint!! If I put any pressure on it at all it hurts. It gets worse if I don't relieve the pressure (I can';t sleep on my left side).

So what do you guys think. Joint? Ligament? Tendons? Should I call my rheumy about this or make an appointment with an orthopedist?

No I am not a doctor, I only play one on the internet. Seriously, I'm only as reliable as your next door neighbor. My views are not necessarily the views of SAA or its' members.
Re: A Question For Those With Previous Shoulder Problems #46752 08/24/06 02:37 PM
R
Ryan's mom Offline
R
I am not certain that my should problem was all AS, but it was definitely arthritis. My problems just came on instantly. Lots of pain ... no sleeping in bed ... if I laid on my back, my shoulder would roll back causing pain; if I laid on my left side (right shoulder was the problem) and my shoulder rolled forward, it caused a lot of pain. I slept in a recliner for most of 18-20 months. I had shot after shot after shot ... finally the doctor (orthopedist specializing in shoulders, arms, hands) said there was no option but surgery. He removed lots of junk from around the joint (arthritis he said) and took part of the collar bone. It was no fun and a reasonably slow recuperation, but well worth it. I've since had my thumb joint replaced in my left hand (same doc). That was arthritis as well ... virtually no joint left at all. Best of luck to you ... I do think I'd recommend an orthopedist as opposed to your rheumy.

Re: A Question For Those With Previous Shoulder Problems #46753 08/24/06 02:58 PM
A
Anonymous