Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Awaiting confirmation #101689 01/10/06 11:56 PM
M
MIgrunt Offline OP
OP Offline
M
I'm a 17 year veteran of the U.S. Army (SFC, Military Intelligence). After fighting with several doctors in several states and two countries, I was finally diagnosed with Fibromyalgia in September of 2002. I was eventually boarded out in June 2004. I started to have neck and back problems about a year ago. I also had severe tingling and numbness on my right side to include my arm and leg. I also had severe spasms. I've just started going to a Neurologists and Rheumatologist on the outside. The Neuro has looked at some MRIs I recently had done and the tech says I have signs of AS in the lower neck and pelvic area. I'm still waiting to go the Rheum for blood test results and his review of the MRIs. Don't know of any family history of this. My husband, retired 12B, has been having similar problems and we are awaiting his results. I have read that AS can be caused by baterial infections. Considering places I have been it wouldn't surprise me but I must wait to see if I do have the gene marker. Has anyone heard about any link between FM and AS or are they considered to complete seperate conditions?

Re: Awaiting confirmation #101690 01/11/06 02:58 AM
M
mont974x4 Offline
Registered Visitor
Registered Visitor
M
The lack of decent rest and the muscle spasms along with tender spots are inline with Fibro as well as AS. I asked my doc how they diagnose between fibro and early stage AS (pre-skeletal changes) and his response was that I had fibro too. So, based on that I'd say that AS and fibro can certainly go hand in hand.

Jay

NOTE: If you aint here to help row the boat then you are welcome to walk the plank.
Re: Awaiting confirmation #101691 01/11/06 10:05 AM
M
mmparker Offline
Registered Visitor
Registered Visitor
M